Warning Period for Red Light Cameras Ends May 9

Share this page:

COLORADO SPRINGS, CO - Beginning May 9, drivers who run a red light at an intersection with red light safety cameras will be issued $75 citations as the 30-day warning and education period comes to an end. Violations confirmed by Colorado Springs Police Department staff to have occurred will receive a citation by mail (no points assessed to the driver's record). Drivers will have the opportunity to view the photo and video evidence online and may contest the violation; however, drivers who ignore the citation are subject to additional court fees.

"Last year, the Colorado Springs community lost 48 people to traffic fatalities. That is too high for us, and it's too high for this community. We are taking every measure possible to keep our roads and our residents safe," said Colorado Springs Police Chief Vince Niski. "The red light cameras are not about revenue for us, it's about safety. By reducing the number of red light runners, we decrease the potential for serious crashes. Our goal is to get citizens to follow the rules of the road, to voluntarily comply, and ultimately get everyone home safely."

Preliminary numbers show that between April 9 to May 3, the Colorado Springs Police Department reviewed 565 violation videos and sent 452 written warnings. Officers are still in the process of reviewing additional violations that may have occurred during this time frame. At the end of each month, the CSPD will release the previous month's violation numbers to provide a more comprehensive view of traffic activity at these locations.

The "Red Light Safety Camera Program" has been implemented in an effort to prevent dangerous red light running and aims to protect people in cars, on foot, and on bikes from injuries or crashes caused by red light running. Traffic safety cameras have been implemented at two intersections, with two additional intersections slated to go live later this spring.

Intersections to begin issuing citations May 9:

East Platte Avenue & Chelton Road Eastbound Approach

Briargate Boulevard & Lexington Boulevard Westbound Approach

Intersections expected to go live this spring:

Academy Boulevard & North Carefree Circle Northbound Approach

Academy Boulevard & Dublin Boulevard Southbound Approach

A total of 10 red light safety cameras will be installed at locations throughout Colorado Springs, with the remaining six intersections to be identified and installed in the future.

Motorists with a verified red light running violation will be issued a citation by mail with a fine of $75 (no points will be assessed). Only drivers who ENTER the intersection AFTER the light has turned red will get a ticket.

With each new intersection to use this technology, a new 30-day warning period for that intersection will take effect before fines will be issued.

Cameras operate 24-hours-a-day and capture images of vehicles when they run a red light at an intersection. Violations are issued after police personnel confirm a violation has occurred. Signs posted along the street will alert drivers in advance that red light safety cameras are in use at the approaching intersection. For more information about the program visit www.ColoradoSprings.gov/RedLightSafety.

The automated red light safety camera enforcement program works to change driver behavior through increased enforcement of red light laws and increased public awareness.

Data shows that red light safety cameras can change driving behavior. City officials chose the locations after evaluating several factors including crash data and intersections where the technology would have the most impact.

Colorado Springs contracts with Verra Mobility as its red light safety camera vendor. Verra Mobility is the leading provider of red light and speed camera enforcement programs across North America.