APPELLANT CHECKLIST (COLORADO SPRINGS MUNICIPAL COURT APPEALS
All appeals from Municipal Court are heard by the 4" Judicial District Court in accordance with Colorado Municipal Court Rules of
Procedure, Rule 237 and the Colorado Rules of Criminal Procedure, Rule 37.

Definitions: Appellant — A party who appeals from a lower court to a higher court.
Appellee — A party against whom a case is appealed from a lower court to a higher court.

Within 35 days of Sentencing:
Date of Sentencing:
] Prepare one original and three copies of the NOTICE OF APPEAL AND DESIGNATION OF RECORD
[] File the original NOTICE OF APPEAL AND DESIGNATION OF RECORD with the District Court located at 270
South Tejon Street and pay the docket fee. Inform the clerk you are filing an appeal on a Municipal Court conviction.
Have all three copies date stamped for distribution at the Municipal Court.
[] Bring all three date-stamped copies to the Violations Bureau (Room 108) at the Municipal Court. Have each copy date
stamped from Municipal Court for final distribution.
[] File one date stamped copy of the NOTICE OF APPEAL AND DESIGNATION OF RECORD at the Municipal Court
in Room 108.
] Complete and file TRANSCRIPT REQUEST FORM and pay deposit at Municipal Court while in Room 108.
] Request a stay of execution and post appeal bond if there are any outstanding sentencing conditions.
¢ If jail or other conditions are imposed and are outstanding, you must post an appeal bond in an amount to
be determined by the sentencing judge. This may be determined the day of sentencing or at a later court
appearance (within 35 days of sentencing.) Post the appeal bond in Room 108.
e Ifonly fines and costs are imposed and are outstanding, you must post an appeal deposit In the amount of
outstanding fines and costs (within 35 days of sentencing) in Room 108.
[] File a second date stamped copy of the NOTICE OF APPEAL AND DESIGNATION OF RECORD with the City
Attorney at the Municipal Court in Room 410.
] Keep the third date stamped copy for your records.

Within 14 davs of Filing NOTICE OF APPEAL AND DESIGNATION OF RECORD:
Date Notice of Appeal and Designation of Record Filed:
You may receive a NOTICE OF REDESIGNATION OF RECORD from the appellee. Pursuant to Rule 37, the appellee
may within 14 days of receipt of the Notice of APPEAL AND DESIGNATION OF RECORD, request additional parts of
the transcript or record deemed necessary. In this instance you, the appellant, may be required to post an additional deposit
to cover the costs. This must be posted within 7 days of Notice date of Redesignation of Record.

Within 7 davs of NOTICE OF REDESIGNATION OF RECORD: (If filed by the City Attorney):

Date of Notice of Redesignation:
] You must post additional deposit, if additional transcripts are requested by the City in the Notice of Redesignation. You
will receive a NOTICE OF PREPARATION when record is prepared.

Within 14 days of NOTICE OF PREPARATION OF RECORD:
Date of Notice of Preparation:
] File any objections to the record in the Municipal Court. If objections are filed, a hearing will generally be held in
Municipal Court, but in some circumstances may be heard in the District court. Best practice is to file the objection with
both the Municipal and District courts. If no objections are filed, the record will be certified and filed in the District Court.

Any additional costs must be paid before the record is filed.

You will receive a NOTICE OF FILING when the record is filed.

Within 21 days of NOTICE OF FILING OF RECORD:
Date Notice of Filing Filed:
[[] File a written Brief with the District Court.
[] File a copy of the Brief with the City Attorney. The City Attorney has 21 days to file an ANSWER BRIEF.

Within 14 davs of the filing of the City Attorney’s ANSWER BRIEF:
Date Answer Brief Filed:
[] File a REPLY BRIEF, if needed, with the District Court and the City Attorney.
After review of the record and the briefs, the District Court Judge will issue a ruling on the case.

Within 10 days of NOTICE OF RULING:
Date of Notice of Ruling:
[] Contact Colorado Springs Municipal Court for further instructions. (Telephone: 719-385-5928)




APPELLANT INFORMATION — COLORADO SPRINGS MUNICIPAL COURT

[CIMunicipal Court [JCounty Court []District Court

County, Colorado

Court Address:

City of Colorado Springs Municipal Court/Appellee:

Ve ¢+ COURT USE ONLY
Defendant/Appellant:

Attorney or Party Without Attorney (Name and Address): Case Number:

Phone Number: E-mail:

FAX Number: Atty Reg. #: Division: Courtroom:

NOTICE OF APPEAL AND DESIGNATION OF RECORD - CRIMINAL

The Defendant hereby files an appeal in (Municipal Court case number) for the following
reason(s):

[] At this time, I request a stay of execution. I understand that as a condition of the stay of execution, I may be required to
post a bond or deposit in the amount of fines and costs assessed.

Current Information about the Appellant/Defendant:

Full Name:
Mailing Address:
City & Zip:
Home Phone #: Work Phone # Cell #:

Designation of Record:
The clerk of court will prepare the record on appeal, pursuant to Rule 37, Rules of Criminal Procedure and will include the

following items:
[] The Municipal Court case file, including all pleadings, motions, reports, exhibits, orders of the court, and jury

instructions, if applicable.
[JThe original transcript: (identify proceedings)

Date:

Signature of Defendant/Appellant Signature of Attorney for Defendant/Appellant, if applicable
CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I certify that on (date) an original was filed with the Court and that a true and accurate copy of this

NOTICE OF APPEAL/DESIGNATION OF RECORD — CRIMINAL was provided to other party by:

[] Hand Delivery or [_] Faxed to this number or [] by placing it in the United States mail,

postage pre-paid, and adddressed to the following:

To:

(Your signature)



Colorado Springs Municipal Court
224 East Kiowa Street
Colorado Springs, CO 80901-2169
719 385-5922

TRANSCRIPT REQUEST FORM

This transcript request form must be completed by any person requesting a transcript of any court
proceeding.
Deposit Required

Arraignment $ 25.00
Pretrial $ 25.00
Trials and other hearings — less than one hour $100.00
Trials and other hearings — more than one hour $200.00
Jury Trials $300.00

Transcripts costs are $2.75 per page. Transcribing will not begin until a deposit is made. If the cost
of the transcript exceeds the deposit made, you will be notified of the balance due. Any balance due
must be paid prior to the delivery of the transcript. If the cost of the transcript is less than the deposit,
a refund will be forwarded.

Pursuant to Municipal Rule 10.5.103D, the Referee’s notes or tape recording shall not be subject to
inspection, discovery or use in any trial de novo.

ORDERING PARTY INFORMATION

Name of person requesting transcript Phone Number E-mail Address
Mailing Address City State Zip Code
TRANSCRIPT INFORMATION
Request for: () Appeal () Non-Appeal
Defendant Name Case Number Judge Date Time | Division | Proceeding Type
ORDERING INFORMATION
Date of Request Certification: By signing below, I certify that I will pay all charges.
Signature:
FOR COURT USE ONLY
Date request received Transcript prepared by
Date of deposit Amount paid
Date of completed Number of pages
Date delivered Amount of refund, if any




