Main content
Published on

Mayor Yemi Mobolade announced today the City will adopt a new organizational structure for its departments to help improve the efficiency and effectiveness of City services. The new structure will feature two Deputy Chief of Staff roles, along with elevating Housing & Community Vitality as a new department.

“I am pleased to announce these changes to our service model,” said Mayor Mobolade. “These decisions are the product of conversations with department heads, research on how other City governments our size are structured, and a thorough review of transition documents. This new structure supports my goal of building a transparent and proactive City government and provides a better connection between the Mayor’s Office and each department.”

Ryan Trujillo will continue to serve as Deputy Chief of Staff with a new focus on operations. He will oversee the City Clerk; Colorado Springs Airport; IT; Office of Innovation; Municipal Court; Pikes Peak Regional Office of Emergency Management; and Support Services.

Travis Easton has been promoted from Public Works Director to the Deputy Chief of Staff responsible for infrastructure and development. In this new role, he will oversee Airport Economic Development; Economic Development; Housing & Community Vitality; Parking Enterprise; Parks, Recreation & Cultural Services; Planning; and Public Works. He will also work with the Urban Renewal Authority.

Steve Posey will serve as the new Chief Housing & Community Vitality Officer. Posey previously served as the Community Development Division Manager, which was part of the Planning Department.

Finance, Communications, Human Resources and the two deputy chiefs will report to Chief of Staff Jamie Fabos. The Police and Fire Departments and the City Attorney’s Office will continue to report directly to the Mayor.

The City anticipates announcing an acting director of Public Works next week and will soon begin a nationwide search for the permanent role.

A new organizational chart for the City of Colorado Springs leadership team
  • Share this page: