City Clerk Sarah Johnson Releases Final City Council District Map

Share this page:

Colorado Springs, CO— City of Colorado Springs Clerk Sarah Johnson released the 2021 City Council District map today. The map is the result of nearly six months of research and community engagement. These new City Council District boundaries apply to the six City Council District races. These boundaries are effective beginning with the April 6, 2021 Election until the next redistricting process in 2024.

“City Charter requires the City Clerk to review the City Council districts every four years to balance the population,” said Sarah Johnson, Colorado Springs City Clerk. “The City Clerk works very closely with the District Process Advisory Committee (DPAC) for community outreach and education on the process. The Council Districts determine who can represent our City, so balancing the Districts is a major part of our local representative democracy.”

For the April 6, 2021 City Election, potential candidates in each City Council District must reside in the City Council Districts as set in this new map.

District Process Advisory Committee

The seven-person District Process Advisory Committee (DPAC) consists of one member from each of the six current City Council Districts, as well as one At-large member. This committee engaged community members in their respective City Council Districts, convening digital town halls and answering questions for the public.

DPAC Members:

District 1 – Hank Scarangella

District 2 – Carlos Perez

District 3 – Mollie Decost

District 4 – Jeannie Orozco

District 5 – Jeff Mohrmann

District 6 – Jessica Smith

At-Large – Maureen Christopher

Recent History

  • April 2020: City Council appointed the District Process Advisory Committee (DPAC).
  • June–August 2020: DPAC conducted seven digital public meetings to explain the process to the community and hear feedback.
  • September 2020: DPAC reported back to City Council with results from the public input process.
  • October 2020: City Clerk delivered a draft City Council District map and conducted a digital public hearing to gain feedback from the community on the draft map.

Upcoming Events

  • November 2020: The DPAC will deliver its final report to City Council on November 23, 2020.
  • January 2021: City Council candidate filing period is January 4-25, 2021. Candidates must reside in the City Council Districts as set in this final plan. A candidate training session will also be held in the morning on January 4, 2021.
  • April 2021: General Municipal Election will take place on April 6, 2021.

The new City Council District map can be viewed at

Subscribe to City News

Get a weekly update of news, events and upcoming public meetings from the City of Colorado Springs.