Finalists for 2022 Mayor’s Young Leader Awards announced

Share this page:

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – The Mayor's Office today announced its finalists for the ninth annual Mayor’s Young Leader Awards. The program celebrates the outstanding achievements of young professionals aged 40 and under who are making a positive impact in Colorado Springs through their professional and volunteer activities. 

Of the nominees, 30 finalists have emerged across six categories. One winner from each category will be announced during an award ceremony on Thursday, Oct. 27 from 5-7 p.m. at the 3E’s Comedy Club, 1 S. Nevada Avenue. 

Select a category below to see finalists

Community and Economic Impact

  • Samantha Chapman, Sentinels of Freedom
  • Cecilia Harry, Colorado Springs Chamber & EDC
  • Natasha Hutson, U.S. Bank
  • Kayla Nelson, Catalyst Campus for Technology and Innovation
  • Erica Romero, Pikes Peak Workforce Center

Creative Industry

  • Kristin Kotera, TDG Architecture, Inc.
  • Victoria Lipscomb, Springs Recovery Connection
  • Caitlin Lowans, University of Colorado Colorado Springs
  • Jeresneyka Rose, Trust for Public Land and ArtByRizzo
  • TerryJosiah Sharpe, Anthem Music Enterprises


  • Cordelia Feess-Armstrong, Food to Power
  • Sloan Gonzales, University of Colorado Colorado Springs 
  • Nathaniel Lohmann, Colorado Springs School District 11
  • Dr. Sarah Long, University of Colorado Colorado Springs
  • Jesse Perez, University of Colorado Colorado Springs

Sports, Health & Wellness

  • Michelle Beyrle, El Paso County Public Health
  • Brendan Burke, Switchbacks Football Club
  • Jennaya Colons, Penrose Hospital, Centura Health
  • Justin Hayworth, Ent Credit Union
  • Aubrey McCoy, Colorado Springs Sports Corporation

Technology & Sustainability

  • Csilla Brimer, Willenrimer Consulting 
  • Kelly Bull, Kelly Bull Permaculture Design
  • Izzy Hankes, Bluestaq
  • Rebecca Jewett, Palmer Land Conservancy
  • Mackenzie Tamayo, Catalyst Campus for Innovation and Technology

Military Leaders

  • Stephanie Bandy, United States Air Force
  • First Sergeant James Herrington, United States Army
  • Isaac D. Johnson, United States Space Command
  • Captain Kyle Kravitch, United States Army
  • Technical Sergeant Dearatha D. Nelson, United States Air Force


The award ceremony will be emceed by Fox21 Morning News meteorologist Matt Meister, and limited tickets are now available for purchase at Mayor's Young Leaders Awards. The cost is $30 per individual.

Event sponsors include the Colorado Springs Chamber & EDC, 3E’s Comedy Club, Fox21, Glassical Designs, Mt. Carmel Veterans Service Center, Oakwood Homes, Stockman Kast Ryan + Company, and Vectra Bank. 

For more information on the Mayor’s Young Leader Awards, including a list of past recipients and a description of each award category, visit 

Subscribe to City News

Get a weekly update of news, events and upcoming public meetings from the City of Colorado Springs.