Mayor’s Office accepting nominations for 2020 Mayor’s Young Leader Awards

Share this page:

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – The Mayor's Office is now accepting nominations for the seventh annual Mayor’s Young Leader Awards. Launched in 2015, the awards celebrate the outstanding achievements of young professionals, age 40 and under, whose extraordinary efforts make a positive impact on the Colorado Springs community. Nominees must live or work in Colorado Springs. City employees are not eligible.

Nominations must be submitted via by Friday, Aug. 28. The six award categories are as follows:

Community and economic impact

An individual who has measurably impacted the community or local economy through their business, community involvement or events. The community impact should have a tangible, measurable effect on the community, including job creation, workforce development, volunteer efforts, board service, or an innovative business model that promotes social goals.

Past winners: Jake Eichengreen, Quad Innovation Partnership (2019); Jeff Finn, Nor’wood Development Group (2018); Doug Martin, Colorado Springs Sports Corp (2017); Todd Baldwin, Red Leg Brewing Company (2016); Nick Ragain, Colorado Springs Switchbacks (Oct. 2015); Yemi Mobolade, The Wild Goose Meeting House (Jan. 2015)

Creative industry

By using creative methods or systems to transform their given industry, this individual demonstrates the power of art and business working together to make a positive impact.

Past winners: Cody Burket, ESports Arena (2019); Aisha Ahmad-Post, University of Colorado Colorado Springs (2018); Drew Johnson, TechWears (2017); Claire Swinford, Downtown Partnership (2016); Mundi Ross, Colorado Collective (Oct. 2015); Jorden Smith, A Positive Note (Jan. 2015)


Through creative, non-traditional approaches focused on improving education, this individual actively helps foster future generations of innovative thinkers.

Past winners: Dr. Manya Whitaker, Colorado College (2019); Erik Huffman, Handshake Leadership (2018); Scott Fuller, School District 11 (2017); Brittni Darras, Academy School District 20 (2016); Justin Carpenter, Pikes Peak Community College (Oct. 2015); Wendy Birhanzel, Harrison School District (Jan. 2015)

Military leader

A team player who leads by example to embody the values of integrity and excellence in service. This individual’s positive impact extends into the greater community.

Past winners: Staff Sgt. Barbara Kendricks, U.S. Army (2019)

Sports and wellness

An individual who has implemented compelling new ideas to deliver better sports, health and wellness initiatives in the community through their business or events.

Past winners: Brian Moreno, Colorado Springs Little League (2019); Ian Ratz, University of Colorado Colorado Springs (2018); Terrell Brown, Hillside Connection (2017); Megan Leatham, Broadmoor Pikes Peak International Hill Climb (2016); Aron McGuire, United States Olympic Training Center (Oct. 2015); Nikki McComsey, Kids on Bikes (Jan. 2015)

Technology and sustainability

This individual provides enhancements in technology and/or sustainability that advance productivity, improve efficiency, increase performance, provide innovative results or pursues sustainable initiatives to make our community a better place for future generations.

Past winners: Forrest Senti, National Cybersecurity Center (2019); Erin Miller, Center for Technology Research and Commercialization (2018); Rebecca Decker, Catalyst Campus (2017); Allison Plute, Colorado Springs Utilities (2016); Jennifer Peterson, Rocky Mountain Field Institute (Oct. 2015); Conor McCluskey, BombBomb (Jan. 2015)

Winners will be announced during an award ceremony on Thursday, Oct. 22 from 4-6 p.m. at City Hall, 107 N Nevada Ave, in City Council Chambers.

For more information, visit

Subscribe to City News

Get a weekly update of news, events and upcoming public meetings from the City of Colorado Springs.