Mayor's Young Leader Award Winners

Share this page:

2019 Winners


winners pose with mayor suthers

Left to right: Jake Eichengreen, Staff Sgt. Barbara Kendricks' wife, Dr. Manya Whitaker, Mayor John Suthers, Forrest Senti, Cody Burket, Brian Moreno

Community and Economic Impact: Jake Eichengreen, Quad Innovation Partnership

Creative Industry: Cody Burket, ESports Arena

Education: Dr. Manya Whitaker, Colorado College

Military leader: Staff Sgt. Barbara Kendricks, U.S. Army

Sports and Wellness: Brian Moreno, Colorado Springs Little League

Technology and Sustainability: Forrest Senti, National Cybersecurity Center

2018 Winners

Community and Economic Impact: Jeff Finn, Norwood Development Group

Creative Industry: Aisha Ahmad-Post, University of Colorado Colorado Springs

Education: Erik Huffman, Handshake Leadership

Sports and Wellness: Ian Ratz, University of Colorado Colorado Springs (College of Business)

Technology: Erin Miller, Center for Technology Research and Commercialization

2017 Winners

Left to Right:
Innovation in Education: Scott Fuller: School District 11
Future Industries: Dr. Rebecca Decker, Catalyst Campus for Technology and Innovation
Economic Impact: Doug Martin, Colorado Springs Sports Corporation
(Mayor John Suthers)
Innovation in Sports and Wellness: Terrell Brown, Hillside Connection
Creative Industry: Drew Johnson, TechWears

MYLA 2017


2016 Winners

Left to Right:
Economic Impact: Todd Baldwin, Red Leg Brewing Company
Innovation in Sports and Wellness: Megan Leatham, Broadmoor Pikes Peak International Hill Climb
(Mayor John Suthers)
Creative Industry: Claire Swinford, Downtown Partnership
Future Industries: Allison Plute, Colorado Springs Utilities
Innovation in Education: Brittni Darras , Academy School District 20

October 2015 Winners (Mayor Suthers)

Creative Industry: Mundi Ross, Colorado Collective 
Economic Impact: Nick Ragain, Colorado Springs Switchbacks 
Future Industries: Jennifer Peterson, Rocky Mountain Field Institute 
Innovation in Education: Justin Carpenter, Pikes Peak Community College 
Innovation in Sports and Wellness: Aron McGuire, United States Olympic Training Center 

January 2015 Winners (Mayor Bach)

Creative Industry – Jorden Smith, A Positive Note
Economic Impact – Yemi Mobolade, The Wild Goose Meeting House
Innovation in Education – Dr. Wendy Birhanzel, Harrison School District
Innovation in Sports & Wellness – Nikki McComsey, Kids on Bikes
Future Industries – Conor McCluskey, BombBomb