Mayor's Young Leader Awards

Share this page:

Bold. Innovative. Difference maker. Unafraid to fail. 

The Mayor's Young Leader Awards celebrates young professionals – age 40 or under – who are making a significant positive impact in Colorado Springs. Now more than ever, young professionals are stepping up to current challenges and serving as leaders in our community. Nominations for the 2021 Mayor's Young Leader Awards are now closed.

2021 Finalists:

Of the nominees, 27 finalists have emerged across five categories. The finalists, who all live or work in Colorado Springs, are below. 

Community and Economic Impact

  • Dani Barger, Colorado Springs Chamber & EDC
  • Jordan Empey, Stockman Kast Ryan + Company
  • AJ Frasca, Panino’s
  • Latrina Ollie, Solid Rock Community Development Corporation, Quar Notary
  • Jessie Pocock, Inside Out Youth Services
  • Bree Shellito, Ent Credit Union

Creative Industry

  • Brandon Borne, BornesPro Media, My Black Colorado
  • Ashley Cornelius, Denver Health
  • Brother Luck, Four by Brother Luck, Lucky Dumpling
  • Stephen Martin, Explore With Media
  • TerryJosiah Sharpe, Anthem Music Enterprises
  • Megan Whalen, Vladimir Jones


  • Connor Beaudoin, Harrison School District 2
  • Harris Kalofonos, Goodvoice Group, Young Champion Ambassador
  • Cory Notestine, Colorado Springs School District 11
  • Corey Williams, Harrison School District 2
  • Adam Wright, Mountain Song Community School

Sports, Health & Wellness

  • Kristi Durbin, El Paso County Public Health
  • Jess Lyons, YMCA of the Pikes Peak Region
  • Dayton Romero, Silver Key Senior Services
  • Dr. Sara Saporta-Keating, Children’s Hospital Colorado – Colorado Springs
  • Cassandra Walton, Pikes Peak Suicide Prevention Partnership

Technology & Sustainability

  • Trevor Becker, Rackspace Technology
  • Sara Koeppel, Natural Resource Conservation Service, Magneti Marketing
  • Natasha Main., Exponential Impact
  • Alan Peak, South Platte Fly Shop
  • Michael Riggs, Perch Security


Winners will be announced during the 2021 Mayor’s Young Leaders Ceremony on Oct. 28 from 4-6 p.m. The event will be held at the 3E’s Comedy Club (1 S. Nevada Ave.).

Questions? Contact Donna Nelson at

View Previous Winners

Event Sponsors: