Published on

Sgt Daryl Griffin, Matthew Minneman, Connie Ryan, Matt Radcliffe, Ashley Cornelius, Latisha Quintana, and Brianna Goodwin receive awards for their contributions to Colorado Springs

During Wednesday’s tenth annual Mayor’s Young Leader Awards, Mayor Yemi Mobolade recognized seven individuals for making extraordinary efforts in their field while having a positive impact in the Colorado Springs community.

“As the mayor of this great City, I am proud and inspired by the excellence displayed by each of the finalists,” said Mayor Mobolade. “These leaders drive change, inspire others and embody the spirit of leadership, demonstrating that age is not a barrier to creating meaningful progress.  I am grateful for their extraordinary leadership in Colorado Springs and for making our city an inclusive, culturally rich, economically prosperous, safe and vibrant city on a hill that shines brightly.”

The award ceremony launched in 2015 to celebrate the outstanding achievements of young professionals age 40 and under, the 2023 winners were selected from 30 finalists.

The 2023 winners are as follows:

Military Leaders Award: Sgt Daryl Griffin | United States Space Force

Daryl Griffin is a dedicated Space Force leader and serves as NCO in Charge of Student Management for the Space Force’s largest delta. He instructs newcomers in weapon systems and excels in community contributions. Griffin volunteers as a Wildland firefighter, high school football coach and facilitates mentorship with Division 1 athletes. He has led a pregnancy drive helping 170,000 families in Colorado Springs. He has also mentored in the local JROTC program and promoted STEM education to elementary students. He has unwavering commitment to military duties and community service and makes an exemplary Space Force leader who inspires and assists others, both in and beyond his military role. 

Technology and Sustainability: Matthew Minneman | RainTech
Throughout his time at Tech for Less, a stint at the Broadmoor, and now as Chief Information Security Officer at RainTech Matthew Minneman strives to provide safe and secure technology to everyone. He began ensuring refurbished electronics were repaired in a sustainable manner and waste disposed of responsibly and has strived to keep the community clean and safe. With weekly meetings with a variety of local business decision makers and his freely published podcast, Minneman helps achieve his goal to make cybersecurity possible for everyone. 

Sports, Health and Wellness: Connie Ryan | Journey Care Coordinating

Connie Ryan, owner of Journey Care Coordinating, LLC, is a consultant and advocate for seniors. In 2016, Ryan’s passion for elder care took root when she relocated to Alexandria, VA. Supporting over 300 families and 150 caregivers, she gained profound insights into the challenges faced by seniors and their families. In 2021, Ryan founded Journey Care Coordinating, LLC, committed to bridging critical gaps in elderly care. She initiated 'Proactive Living,' uniting families, seniors, caregivers, and experts for vital conversations about aging and care options. Ryan's dedication earned her a well-deserved Joe Henjum Accolades Award nomination from the Senior Resource Council. 

Education: Matt Radcliffe | Pikes Peak State College

Matt Radcliffe is a Bronze Star Recipient and Eagle Scout focused on making a positive impact in the Colorado Springs community. As the Executive Director of Marketing and Communication at Pikes Peak State College, Radcliffe plays an integral part in empowering students to pursue their dreams and make their own positive impact on the world. He also serves as President of Springs Ensemble Theatre, an all-volunteer performing arts company, to help make our city a thriving cultural destination. Redcliffe is grateful and humbled to be nominated for this honor and promises to continue doing great work no matter the outcome. 

Creative Industry: Ashley Cornelius | Poet Laureate for the Pikes Peak Region

Ashley Cornelius is the Pikes Peak Region Poet Laureate. She is the youngest and first Black person to hold this title in the region. As Poet Laureate, Cornelius creates free community events like the annual Poetry Summit and the Global Poetry Experience, facilitates workshops in schools, and commissions poetry for community organizations. She is the Co-Director of Poetry719, a Black-led poetry group lifting the voices of marginalized communities and BIPOC folks putting on hundreds of events and paying artists across the last 6 years. Cornelius’ work elevates poetry and uses it as a modality for healing, advocacy, and activism.

Community Impact: Latisha Quintana | 4th Judicial District Court

Latisha Quintana was born and raised in Colorado Springs. She earned her master’s degree in social work in her hometown and has dedicated the past 17 years serving victims of interpersonal violence, youth in the juvenile-justice system, and individuals with behavioral health needs. Serving as the 4th Judicial Unified Problem Solving Court Coordinator for the past eight years, her efforts have forged invaluable partnerships, secured funding, and promoted the use of evidence-based practices for people living with complex behavioral health needs. Additionally, Quintana volunteers with Educating Children of Color, Mission Possible and Ballet Folklorico de Barajas; and mentor others.

Economic Impact: Brianna Goodwin | Colorado Springs Sports Corp

Brianna Goodwin is Chief Development Officer for Colorado Springs Sports Corporation. She provides leadership for all fundraising strategies that enable Sports Corp to support its mission and bring Colorado Springs’ largest events to life. Before this role, Brianna was Event Coordinator for the City of Colorado Springs where she developed and implemented the City’s special event permit system as part of the City’s economic vitality initiatives. She has also worked for Colorado Springs Fire Department where she created nationally recognized fire prevention programming. Brianna started her career of community service working for American Cancer Society executing fundraising events.  

More information about the Mayor’s Young Leader Awards, including a list of all 2023 finalists and past award recipients, is available at

  • Share this page: