The Colorado Springs Police Department Child Occupant Protection Program (COPP) provides a proactive approach to prevent unnecessary death and injuries of children caused by improper restraint in motor vehicle crashes in and around the Colorado Springs area.
To reduce injuries and death to children in motor vehicle crashes by providing comprehensive education on child safety seats and vehicle seat belt systems to help parents and caretakers in the Colorado Springs area. This program is designed to provide readily available resources to the community to answer their child safety seat and vehicle seat belt questions.
|NOTE: Child lap belt rides across hips comfortably and shoulder belt rides across middle of chest and off the neck. Allowing your child to put the shoulder harness of the seat belt behind their back or tucked under their arm could compromise the effectiveness of the seatbelt and result in injury or even death in a motor vehicle crash.|
Traffic Fatality Deaths Involving Children:
Motor vehicle crashes are a leading cause of unintentional deaths for children.
7 fatalities in children 0-7 years old:
5 with child restraints in use
1 was unrestrained and ejected out back window
11 fatalities and 5 serious injuries in children 8-15 years old:
5 were restrained
8 were unrestrained
Colorado Child Passenger Safety Law:
|Less than 1 year old||1- 3 years old||4-7 years old||8-15 years old|
|Less than 20 lbs||Rear-facing safety seat in the back seat only||Rear facing safety seat||
|Rear facing safety seat||Rear or forward facing safety seat||Forward facing safety seat or booster||-|
|More than 40 lbs||-||Forward facing safety seat or booster||Forward facing safety seat or booster||Booster seat or seat belt|
|Colorado State Statute||42-4-236 (2)(a)(II)||42-4-236 (2)(a)(II)||42-4-236 (2)(a)(II)||42-4-236 (2)(a)(II)|
- Not having children properly secured is a primary violation and mandatory court appearance (this violation could be the reason for the stop).
- As a driver of a vehicle, it is your responsibility to ensure children under 18 are properly and safely secured during every trip.
- Child restraints must be adjusted and installed according to the car seat and vehicle manufacturer’s instructions.
- Children must meet the height, weight and age requirements for the child restraint being used.
- Child restraints must meet Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards
- Car seats involved in any traffic accident should be replaced without delay.
Schedule a Child Car Seat Check:
This program is available at all four Colorado Springs Police Department substations by appointment only. If this is an emergency installation or technicians are not available, other community resources are available to the community and will be listed at the bottom of this page.
To make an appointment, please click on the following link:
If you are unable to make your appointment, please do the following:
Return to the SignUpGenius link and email the contact information to cancel your appointment.
Be advised - If you are more than 15 minutes late, for your appointment, you will need to reschedule your appointment for another date and time.
On the day of your appointment, the following items you will need to bring with you to the inspection:
- Car seat installed in the vehicle to the best of your ability, based on the manufacturer’s instructions:
- Car seat manual
- Vehicle manual
- Current weight and height of child
Our certified car seat technicians will help educate you about the safe installation of a child car seat. Be prepared to learn and perform the process of how to install a child car seat as the technician walks you through the steps. This process can take anywhere from 30 minutes up to 45 minutes, so plan accordingly.
If CSPD resources are not available, the following community resources are also available to assist.