Colorado Springs Sister Cities International

Share this page:


Sisters city Kyrgystan delegation

In April 2018, Mayor Suthers visited with a delegation from Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan.  Bishkek is a sister city with a similar dry climate to Colorado Springs.

Sister Cities International was created at President Eisenhower’s 1956 White House summit on citizen diplomacy, where he envisioned a network that would be a champion for peace and prosperity by fostering bonds between people from different communities around the world.

Colorado Springs Sister Cities International launched in 1962 with its first sister city, Fujiyoshida, Japan. Colorado Springs Sister Cities International engages with our 7 global sister cities to advance world peace, friendship, cultural understanding, and mutual economic reward.

Colorado Springs has seven international sister cities, listed below:

  • Fujiyoshida, Japan (1962)
  • Kaohsiung, Taiwan (1983)
  • Smolensk, Russia (1993)
  • Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan (1994)
  • Nuevo Casas Grandes, Mexico (1996)
  • Bankstown, Australia (1999)
  • Ancient Olympia, Greece (2014)